News Detail Page


Class of 2020 Graduation
Laine Williams

On Thursday, July 30, 2020, The Altamont School held its 44th graduation ceremony. Forty-three seniors earned their Altamont diplomas. Due to COVD-19 and social distancing guidelines, graduation looked a bit different this year. Students and families signed up for 10-minute slots to come to campus in a cap and gown to receive their diplomas in person at the Cabaniss-Kaul Center for the Arts. These individualized ceremonies allowed both students and families the opportunity to experience an Altamont graduation. During the ceremony, Head of School Chris Durst welcomed families and announced student names while Board of Trustee Chair Liz Edwards presented the diplomas.

The following seniors were presented with awards during graduation.

Valedictorian--Benjamin Tang

Salutatorian--Kyle Hsu

Altamont Citizenship Award--Dan Eggers

Faculty Cup--Sameer Sultan

Paul Nii-Amar Amamoo Award--Tatianna Sanders

Margaret Gresham Livingston Leadership Award--Sofi Gaitan Wolfe

Additionally, two special awards were presented at the ceremony: the Brooke Hill Cup and the J. Frank Rushton Cup. The Brooke Hill Cup, the highest honor an Altamont girl may receive, was awarded to Caroline Lee. The J. Frank Rushton Cup, the highest honor an Altamont boy may receive, was awarded to Shawn Goyal. These awards are voted on by the entire student body, faculty, and athletic coaches; they honor sportsmanship, leadership, scholarship, athletic ability, integrity, and participation in school activities.

Members of the Class of 2020 were accepted to more than 100 colleges and universities and will matriculate from the following institutions: Auburn University, Baldwin Wallace University, Belmont University, Boston University, Brown University, Colgate University, Colorado State University (Fort Collins), Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Georgia Institute of Technology, Harvard University, High Point University, Lehigh University, New York University, Rhodes College, Rice University, Savannah College of Art and Design, Sewanee, Spring Hill College, Trinity University, Troy University, Tulane University of Louisiana, University of Alabama, United States Air Force Academy, United States Naval Academy, University of Alabama, Birmingham, University of British Columbia, University of Denver, University of Missouri, University of Virginia, Wake Forest University, Wofford College and Yale University.

Congratulations and best wishes Class of 2020!

  • Academic News
  • Admissions News
  • Alumni News
  • Alumni Programs
  • APA Events
  • APA News
  • Archive News
  • Athletic News
  • Board News
  • Category 1
  • Category 2
  • Choir News
  • College Counseling News
  • Community News
  • Community Service
  • Development FAQ
  • Development News
  • Digital SIgn
  • Distinguished Alumni Articles
  • Distinguished Alumni List
  • Drama News
  • Employment Opportunities
  • Faculty News
  • Faculty Protected News
  • Financial Aid News
  • Fine Arts News
  • Forensics News
  • Headmasters News
  • Help the APA
  • Homepage Alerts
  • Homepage Hidden Button
  • Homepage Slideshow
  • Lunchroom Announcements
  • News and Announcements
  • News Archive
  • School Counseling News
  • School News
  • Science Fair News
  • Sports Medicine News
  • Student Announcements
  • Summer Program News
  • Team News
  • Trustees Bios
  • Useful Websites