News Detail Page


Altamont Wins State, National Computer Science Awards
Julie Beckwith

Altamont's computer science teacher Ryan James will receive the Dr. Albert Lilly Memorial Educator Award for excellence and commitment to Alabama K-12 computer science at a ceremony on the University of Alabama campus April 27, 2019. The award is presented by the non-profit National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT).

Several Altamont students have also won NCWIT awards. Senior Mary Allen Murray received a NCWIT Northern Alabama Rising Star award and junior Maya Leonard was named NCWIT Northern Alabama Honorable Mention. Students are selected for awards based on their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. Earlier this year, senior Amrita Lakhanpal was named a NCWIT National Honorable Mention and Northern Alabama Winner for Aspirations in Computing. She was one of only 400 NHM recipients nationally, and one of only 3 NHM recipients in the state of Alabama.

Learn more about Altamont's computer science curriculum at

  • Academic News
  • Admissions News
  • Alumni News
  • APA News
  • Archive News
  • Board News
  • Community News
  • Development News
  • Faculty News
  • Headmasters News
  • News and Announcements
  • News Archive
  • School News