News Detail Page


Altamont Celebrates Graduation
Laine Williams

On Thursday, May 27, 2021, The Altamont School held its 45th graduation ceremony at Sloss Furnaces. Fifty-one seniors earned their Altamont diplomas. During the ceremony, Head of School Chris Durst welcomed families while Board of Trustee Chair Liz Edwards presented the diplomas.

The following seniors were presented with awards during graduation.

Academic Awards
Valedictorian and Salutatorian

The Valedictorian award is given to the person in the class with the highest grade point average and an impeccable record. The valedictorian gave the class speech at graduation. This year the valedictorian is Kuleen Sasse.

The Salutatorian award is given to the student in the class with the second highest grade point average and an impeccable record. The Salutatorian opened the graduation exercises. This year's salutatorian is Amelia Neiman.

Spirit, Leadership, and Citizenship Awards
Paul Nii-Amar Amamoo Award: Amelia Jane Neiman and Kaia Faye Todd

This award honors alumnus Nii Amar Amamoo '97 and his unfailing sense of service to his school and his kind consideration of peers and teachers.

Margaret Gresham Livingston Leadership Award: Tyler Walley
This award is given to an outstanding upper school student who exemplifies the ideals of the Altamont school: truth, knowledge, honor, and a commitment to excellence. It honors the more than forty years of service to Altamont by Mrs. Margaret Livingston.

Altamont Citizenship Award: Eleanor Roth

This award is given annually to the person who exhibits the greatest awareness of, and involvement in, the world around him or her.

Faculty Cup: Anne Merritt Edwards

This award is given to recognize exemplary student leadership within the school community.

Departmental Awards

Mignon Comer Smith Book Award for most outstanding Upper School English student: Lilla Carroll

World Languages

Susan M. Hulsey Prize for outstanding Upper School French student: Eleanor Roth

Jeanne Classe Armes De Paris Medal: Lauren Perry

David Hart White Spanish Award for outstanding Upper School Spanish student: Lilla Carroll

Hallie Porter Shook Cup for outstanding Upper School student in the classical languages: Bay Stackpole

Outstanding Upper School Mandarin student: Isabella Maldia


Carver-Gorgas Senior Science Book Award recognizing an outstanding senior science student: Tyler Walley


Clarice Locke Award for outstanding Upper School mathematics student: Kuleen Sasse

Fine Arts
Gainey Arts and Humanities Award: Emma Lembke

Sophia Mize Clifford Award for outstanding musician: Matthew Poczatek and Mamie Grace Barnard


John Wallace Johnston History Award for most outstanding Upper School history student: Javier Garcia Renteria


Joseph Wheeler Sewell Award (male): Jesse Hungerpiller

Joseph Wheeler Sewell Award (female): Kalia Todd

Lily Cup: Carlisle Wilson

Additionally, two special awards were presented at the ceremony: the Brooke Hill Cup and the J. Frank Rushton Cup. The Brooke Hill Cup, the highest honor an Altamont girl may receive, was awarded to Lauren Perry. The J. Frank Rushton Cup, the highest honor an Altamont boy may receive, was awarded to Matthew Mugweru. These awards are voted on by the entire student body, faculty, and athletic coaches; they honor sportsmanship, leadership, scholarship, athletic ability, integrity, and participation in school activities.

The afternoon ceremony included memorable musical performances, both vocal and instrumental, by several graduating seniors.

Members of the Class of 2020 were accepted to more than 134 colleges and universities and will matriculate from the following institutions: Auburn University, Bard College, Barnard College, College of Charleston, Drexel University, Duke University, Elon University (2), Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, Furman University, George Mason University, George Washington University, Hollins University, Holy Cross College/Notre Dame, Johns Hopkins University, Louisiana State University, Middlebury College, Mount Holyoke College, New York University, Northwestern University, Reed College, Rice University (2), Rollins College, Samford University (2), Skidmore College, Tabor College, Texas Christian University, The University of Alabama (2), Tufts University (3), Tulane University of Louisiana (2), University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of Alabama in Huntsville, University of Arizona, University of Auckland, University of California (San Diego), University of Colorado Boulder, University of Michigan, University of Mississippi, University of Southern California, Vanderbilt University, Washington University in St Louis and Williams College.

Congratulations and best wishes Class of 2021!

  • Academic News
  • Admissions News
  • Alumni News
  • Alumni Programs
  • APA Events
  • APA News
  • Archive News
  • Athletic News
  • Board News
  • Category 1
  • Category 2
  • Choir News
  • College Counseling News
  • Community News
  • Community Service
  • Development FAQ
  • Development News
  • Digital SIgn
  • Distinguished Alumni Articles
  • Distinguished Alumni List
  • Drama News
  • Employment Opportunities
  • Faculty News
  • Faculty Protected News
  • Financial Aid News
  • Fine Arts News
  • Forensics News
  • Headmasters News
  • Help the APA
  • Homepage Alerts
  • Homepage Hidden Button
  • Homepage Slideshow
  • Lunchroom Announcements
  • News and Announcements
  • News Archive
  • School Counseling News
  • School News
  • Science Fair News
  • Sports Medicine News
  • Student Announcements
  • Summer Program News
  • Team News
  • Trustees Bios
  • Useful Websites