• Posted: Mar. 14, 2014

    Senior John Denton Named University Fellow at University of Alabama

    Denton one of 35 Fellows for Class of 2014

  • Posted: Jan. 27, 2014

    2013 Altamont Magazine

  • Posted: Dec. 9, 2013

    Altamont Scholars Bowl Teams Secure Top Team Trophy at Tournament

  • Posted: Dec. 5, 2013

    Best-selling Author Pat Conroy Addresses Altamont Students

    "I just met some of your teachers today," Conroy said. "They are going to be legends someday. You are in the middle of watching them being made, and you are part of them being made. My theory of great teachers is this: I've come across a lot of them. I know when I meet them."

  • Posted: Sep. 17, 2013

    47% of Senior Class Recognized by National Merit Corporation

    Ten members of the Class of 2014 have been named Semifinalists in this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program: Laure Bender, Alice Bradford, Elizabeth Anne Brown, John Denton, Ginny Gresham, Jonathan Hurowitz, James Ozment, Emily Polhill, Simon Tomlinson, and Isabella Trierweiler. In addition, six seniors have been named Commended Students in the competition: Shadi Awad, Alok Deshane, Shannon Hickey, Eric Johns, Sam Monroe, and Andy Vahle.

  • Posted: Sep. 6, 2013

    Kyser Miree Leadership Center Featured in Birmingham Magazine

    Altamont honors a slain graduate with a student program that promotes community giving.

  • Posted: Aug. 21, 2013

    Altamont Goes to Sidewalk Film Festival!

    Three films at this year's Sidewalk Film Festival have strong Altamont ties! World Fair, a documentary short entry, was directed by Amanda Murray, Altamont class of 1999; Amanda will also be part of the Filmmaker Q&A Session at the end of the showing. Computer Chess, a narrative feature entry which also won the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, was produced by Altamont class of 1989 alumnus Houston King. Finally, the Sidewalk Film Festival Youth Board’s entry Twelve Minutes on Tuesday features the talent of senior Sidney Nomberg both on screen and behind the camera.

  • Posted: Jun. 11, 2013

    Altamont Alumna RaiNesha Miller ’09 Receives Bowdoin Leadership Award, Selected Commencement Speaker

    In early May, Bowdoin College President Barry Mills presented awards to a group of students who stand out for their leadership gifts. He also recognized the three students who have been selected to speak at Commencement based on their submitted speeches. Altamont alumna RaiNesha Miller ’09 was the only student in both groups.

  • Posted: Jun. 11, 2013

    Altamont Alumnus Gabe Harris '09 Receives Stanford Award of Excellence

    Alumnus Gabe Harris '09 was recently selected as a recipient of the Stanford Alumni Association’s Stanford Award of Excellence. The Award of Excellence is presented to a select group of graduating seniors who exemplify service to Stanford, leadership in student activities, and a dedication to the University. The Award recognizes those in the senior class who have made Stanford a better place and a more vibrant community.

  • Posted: Jun. 4, 2013

    Brooke Hill Cup Awarded to Lillian Culp

    The Brooke Hill Cup was endowed in 1941. Given annually, it is the highest honor that an Altamont Senior girl can achieve. Senior girls who have been in attendance at Altamont for three consecutive years are eligible. The entire student body votes on loyalty, sportsmanship and leadership and the faculty votes on scholarship, leadership, participation in school activities and integrity. The Brooke Hill Cup recipient should be set apart aspiring to embody the best of Altamont on a day to day basis. She should hold the admiration of her peers and command the respect of her teachers.

1 2  next »